Who am I?

At the age of 18 I moved to France to pursue my dream of learning French. In the subsequent years, I dedicated myself to mastering the French language and later decided to pursue a degree in Foreign Applied Languages at the Université Grenoble-Alpes.

From a young age I have always been fascinated with constructing things. In high school I took full advantage of the well-equipped metal and wood workshops and learned a lot about carpentry and metalworking, as well as became familiar with a whole range of different tools. For my high school senior project, I committed myself to building a working small-scale home wind turbine based on plans developed by some Scottish engineers.

My fascination with digital fabrication technologies came into its own when my life converged with FabLabs. In Grenoble, I became a regular Lab-rat at the well-equipped space at La Casemate science museum. I quickly learned how to use all the machines and spent a great deal of time working on my personal artistic / interactive sculptural projects.

Sometime later, while in London I became a machine technician and machinist at a fantastic makerspace in East London. There, I worked mostly on others’ projects, repaired machines and fulfilled the role of permanent lab-rat.

I then continued to develop my interests in the FabLab world through my Master’s degree in International Development Studies at the University of Amsterdam. There, as part of my research fieldwork I was a temporary resident at the FabLab in the Rwandan capital of Kigali.

Today I work and live at thecamp, the first European campus dedicated to social innovation and future technologies. At thecamp, I am part of the HIVE residency programme and co-lead a project on UAV based air quality monitoring platforms. At thecamp my speciality is digital fabrication and rapid prototyping.